top of page

Clockwork Writings Blog

Week Two- Prologues and Poetry

On Critique, Rewrites, and Mythological Lyricism

How often do writers eat their own words?

When I first read the commentary on my novel, I was staunchly opposed to their critique. Ash felt hollow, they said, she lacked emotional response. I was outraged. I should know, after all, I had spent months in her head, shaping her feelings onto the page. It was impossible that the character through which readers saw my story, was anything but an emotional centerpiece. I came away frustrated and somewhat convinced that the editors just 'didn't get it.'

I have since been served a dish that was hard to swallow. Somewhat sour but long-awaited and well needed, I must concede that they had a point. Whilst Ash was not completely hollow in the original draft, my focus on the events rather than the emotions, left her feeling somewhat patchy. Rather than a powerful and compelling character-led story, I had lost what made Ash & Clockwork so good: Aisling.

This is why in week two, I have enjoyed a moment of reconnection. Little Ash, the point of view of the prologue, has helped me to capture a more emotional drive to the narrative. Her dialect is no longer tacked on world-building, and her childish tone feels more natural and unique. I'm sure it'll all need a re-edit in the future, but the added paragraphs have helped her to leap off the page. I'm looking forward to the contrast of section two this coming week and inserting the complex emotions that she has been so sorely lacking.

Another interesting experience came in the way of my lyrics.

A song, titled 'The Wings of Éire's Sons,' was a later addition to the original draft and the first of many lyrical segments throughout the text. While the full piece is not noted in the prologue, it has decided that it will ring about my head for days on end. Since editing the poetic lyrics they refuse to let me rest, growing from thematic background text into something much, much more.

I had never planned to write the full ballad, and I'm not sure exactly what will come of it, but 'The Wing's of Éire's Sons,' may well be the first full song I actually complete. A retelling of a created myth that fits neatly into real mythology, the song is about sacrifice and bargaining. It was written to be accompanied by an Irish harp, and I'm now struggling to solidify the exact melody. If/ When I do I'll be sure to share, but for now my Patrons will find a version of the lyrics on my Patreon in the next few days.


This process has been unexpected so far. When I started I wasn't sure exactly where it would go and now, two weeks in, I'm even less sure. Here's to the week ahead and another batch of editing. Until next Wednesday...


Follow me on Instagram: @clockworkwritings

On Facebook: Clockworkwritings

On LinkedIn: Darragh Kempson

Support my work on Patreon: Clockwork Writings

17 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page